Garden Designers Roundtable: Getting from Here to There!

Garden Designers Roundtable: Getting from Here to There!

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I-

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference.

                                             ~ Robert Frost

Our topic this month for Garden Designers Roundtable “Getting from here to there” can mean so many things, but movement is at the heart of each. The experience of a garden is movement through time, movement through space. A garden is ever revealing, changing perceptions, altering the senses, and for me, a metaphor for the journey taken and the experiences gained as each of us travels the path chosen.

When designing a garden, attention to movement is essential to offering the visitor an experience. Where the path does traverse is so very much more important than the final destination or the materials used. Consider then the following:

Is it warm?

Inviting?

Is it dramatic?

Slow to reveal?

Does it lead you on?

Change your course?

Remind you of the past?

Transforming?

Does it make you wonder?

For me the journey is one I travel everyday, and find inspiration in the simplest of vignettes. How about you? Do the images connect to something more than just a garden path or a set of stairs, or is a cigar, just a cigar? I would love to hear your thoughts!

Please visit by the rest of the Roundtable bloggers this month and see how they are “Getting from Here to There”.

Debra Prinzing & David Perry:  A Fresh Bouquet

Pam Penick : Digging : Austin, TX

Scott Hokunson : Blue Heron Landscapes : Granby, CT

Rebecca Sweet : Gossip In The Garden : Los Altos, CA

Jenny Peterson : J Peterson Garden Design : Austin TX

Susan Cohan : Miss Rumphius’ Rules : Chatham, NJ

Susan Morrison : Blue Planet Garden Blog : East Bay, CA

Jocelyn Chilvers : The Art Garden : Denver, CO

Lesley Hegarty & Robert Webber : Hegarty Webber Partnership : Bristol, 

Christina Salwitz : Personal Garden Coach : Renton, WA


25 thoughts on “Garden Designers Roundtable: Getting from Here to There!

  1. Scott, I love the thought you gave as to the experience a pathway gives the person walking it. Nice! And that cut-grass pathway through that meadow is awesome–it reminds me of the fields behind my house where I used to play as a kid.

  2. I totally agree with Jenny on this! The thoughtfulness that you brought to this post is enticing and really made me think about how I can add that to my own paths. Thanks!

  3. I like how your post really addresses the emotional journey a garden offers. That’s what it’s all about, isn’t it? And did you notice we both quoted Robert Frost in our posts? Mine was more subtle, but from the same poem.

  4. All good information, but I admit the “slow to reveal” pathway is my favorite. Such a wonderful addition to a garden, but it takes thoughtful planning to make it work. Your example is lovely.

  5. I recognize a few of those paths! It’s funny, I have a similar photo of the last set of stairs but in mine you can see the cigar store indian…it gives a totally different feel to the scene. It’s amazing how perspective can be so easily manipulated. Great post.

  6. ” A garden is a metaphor for the journey taken and the experience gained as each of us travels the path chosen. ” What a beautiful sentiment to go along with the illustrations.

    As you may know I’ve begun a new journey in my life and leaving my home and garden of over 4 decades in Chicago was the most difficult thing I’ve ever done.

    I’m just now getting settled in North Carolina and trying to catch up with all the great postings the GDRT has done. I miss all of you and look forward to your continued good work.

    1. Thanks Carolyn!

      I did see that you moved back to NC, and was thinking about you a while back and wondering how you are doing. Glad to hear you have made the transition, and hopefully your new garden is taking shape. Thanks for the comments, see around the social media cooler!

  7. This is certainly a thought provoking post – and one in which I recognize elements of my own garden. I agree that our gardens cannot help but reflect our approach and path through life.

  8. I am looking for a blog that deals with nature sanctuaries. I am very interested in any definable effects of global warming. I live in Boston, MA area.
    Anyone with a great blue heron on the letterhead must have some ideas!
    Thanks

Leave a comment