Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – June 2011

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – June 2011

It’s bloom day again, and things are starting to perk up after a wet, sluggish, spring. Here are a few shots from the nursery, including a one of what some might call a weed. Must be an “eye of the beholder” thing though, because I sure like it! I’ve included names on those that I’m sure of, Enjoy!

Clematis 'Josephine'
Salvia 'May Night'
Echinacea
Geranium 'Johnson's Blue' (with a visitor)
Heuchera 'Tiramisu'
Oenothera
Lonicera 'Major Wheeler'
Achillea 'Moonshine'
Penstemon 'Husker Red'
Knautia 'Thunder and Lightning'
A selection of Dicentra
Sedum
Red Clover (Trifolium pratense)

Please be sure to stop by May Dreams Gardens to see what’s blooming elsewhere!

16 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – June 2011

  1. LOVE the clematis! Do you have it on a trellis, or do you let it roam about like a groundcover? I’ve never had much luck with Knautia, but that variegated form would certainly be worth a try. Happy GBBD, Scott!

    1. On trellises in clients gardens and my Mom and Dad’s garden, but here they’re still in the nursery. The Knautia is beautiful with out the blossom, and stunning with. So far it is performing well in where we have used it, and worth a try. Thanks And Happy GBBD back at ya!

  2. Your Josephine bloom is lovely… ours are a long way from that stage of ‘open fully’. I’ve always admired the knautia but never tried it myself… congrats on many nice looking blooms! Larry

  3. Lovely…I’m such a sucker for pinks and purples! You may be the first person I’ve seen with ‘Thunder and Lightning’ Knautia…how does it compare to the regular ones?

    1. A lot of pinks and purples to choose from Scott! Thunder and Lightning is a little shorter, has a magenta flower, and that great variegated foliage. Not as long a bloomer, but with that foliage it doesn’t need to be.

  4. Better late than never … I love seeing what’s blooming all around the country. I didn’t think much was in bloom until I went out and looked. My biggest surprise was the blue corydalis. Had it not been for Bloom Day I might have missed it!

  5. That Knautia ‘Thunder and Lightning’ with its variegated leaves and ruby-rich color has it all over the common K. madeconica! It is definitely ‘knicia..(So sorry; all this rain has affected my brain…) I may just have to begin the search to find one for my own garden…Lovely blog and lovely photos. Thanks for the inspiration!, maria, http://www.gardendesignma.com

Leave a Reply

