Winter Wonderland!

Winter Wonderland!

I like winter, I always have. The cold, crisp air is invigorating. I love the excitement of watching a storm move up the east coast, and waking up to a new coating of snow. The stark beauty of a winter landscape, the return of our migratory winged friends, and even a simple walk in the frozen woods with the dog will heighten my senses. For those of us who operate seasonal businesses and for those that are gardeners, there are other benefits. Winter signals the end of a long busy season of work. It’s a time with many industry trade shows, seminars, and flower shows to attend, at which we will further our education and reacquaint ourselves with distant colleagues. Winter affords us a chance to stop and take stock of the year and all its successes and failures, it allows us to recharge our batteries, and best of all, we get to start planning for next season’s activities.

Now, before you think the cold temperatures have frozen my brain synapses, I don’t like everything about winter. I don’t like heavy slushy snowstorms, of which we see plenty. The sight of dirty sand and soil foiled up on the roadside snow banks by snowplows is quite unsightly. And even though he is a very nice man, I don’t like seeing the oilman on such a regular basis. These images, images of the dark side of winter, these fill me with thoughts of sipping Pina Coladas somewhere on a tropical beach!

By the time late February and early March roll around, I’ll be getting sick of the cold temps and the lack of greenery. Until then, seeing old friends and family at so many holiday parties, the beautiful fluffy snows of January and February, and old man winter’s many other benefits, will be enough to lift my spirits, as anticipation builds for those first spring crocus to pop through the late winter snows. See now, even that snowy image made you smile didn’t it. Go ahead you can admit it, we know already.

How do you feel about winter? Please leave a comment below, I would love to hear your thoughts!

Stay warm,

Scott

www.blueheronlandscapes.com

Become a Fan of Blue Heron Landscape Design on Face book – http://bit.ly/yq1XT

Follow me on Twitter: http://twitter.com/ScottHokunson

Connect with me on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/scotthokunson

10 thoughts on “Winter Wonderland!

  1. You pretty much summed up how I feel about it too, though thankfully we dispensed with the oilman a couple of years ago. I don’t like seeing the mailman’s passive-aggressive notice about needing to clear snow from in front of the mailbox when we’ve already cleared as much as humanly possible, which BTW is plenty. What happened to delivering through rain, sleet, SNOW, and dark of night, USPS?!

  2. Way back I was an intern at Longwood Gardens in Pennsylvania. I loved the winter there, they do it up in style. Plus I was living in company housing and could walk to work – the snow didn’t matter. It was March that got me. Muddy, muddy, sometimes icy then more muddy March. Now I know why the North Atlantic region call their porches mudrooms. It was such a tease, nice temperatures or at least warmer combined with sole sucking mud. One can’t garden in the mud.

    Then I escaped and moved south to Georgia, then further south to Central America. Now I am out of the tropics and in Iowa. Does Iowa have a mud seaon?

    1. Foy,

      You certainly have covered a lot of territory, and have seen winter in all its forms. I don’t know if Iowa has a mud season, but I know it has a corn season! Thanks for your comments!

      Very interesting name BTW.

      regards,

      Scott

  3. Winter signals the arrival of ski season. It’s a chance to get out into the backcountry with friends, in search of the deepest powder. I love sitting on top of a ridge on a sunny day, eating lunch looking forward to the ski back down. Winter also means frigid cold, biting wind, shovelling far too much snow and by the time March arrives wishing it was over! and I could get back into the garden.

  4. Your photos make me homesick! It’s all backwards in my mind as winter is when I garden here in the south. Things get planted, moved, tagged, cleaned up. Late summer is the indoor time. I do miss the distinct seasons though because it seems we don’t have that down time you get in the north.

    1. Karyl,

      I have been to Georgia in August, and I sympathize with you. Here in southern New England, we have a great variety of seasonal change, but still must deal with oppressive heat and humidity in late summer, and bitter cold and mud in late winter. All in all, it is a beautiful place to live!

      Thanks for commenting,

      Scott

  5. Scott-
    I envy your love of winter. As you well know (by my constant complaining) this born and raised New England girl doesn’t love the winter anymore. My days of skiing are long gone and so is my ability to stay warm. But I do get some pleasure from it by experience it through your eyes!

Leave a Reply

